Upcoming Events

Saturday, February 13, 2016

Sunday, February 14, 2016

In Scena
Museo Ettore Fico
Turin, Italy
work being performed: dance/drop
Ensembles:  Fiarí Ensemble 
Presbyterian Church of Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill, Pennsylvania
work being performed: i live in pain
Ensembles:  The Crossing 

Monday, February 15, 2016

Friday, February 19, 2016

Calvin College
Covenant Fine Arts Center Auditorium
Grand Rapids, Michigan
work being performed: manifesto
Ensembles:  Cantus 

Saturday, March 12, 2016

* Finland premiere
Our Festival
The Finnish National Theatre
Helsinki, Finland
work being performed: death speaks

Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - Thursday, March 17, 2016

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Thursday, April 14, 2016

University of Michigan
Bienen School of Music
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Ensembles:  University of Michigan 

Sunday, April 17, 2016

* World premiere
Northwestern University
Bienen School of Music
Evanston, Illinois
Conductors:  Donald Nally 

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Perez Art Museum
Miami, Florida
work being performed: the little match girl passion

IlluminArts is thrilled to present David Lang's 2008 Pulitzer Prize winning piece, the little match girl passion, in a fully staged performance inspired by the highly anticipated exhibit of Colombian sculptor, Doris Salcedo at PAMM.  Renowned director R.B. Schlather will direct the performance.  The New York Times has described Schlather as "having a gift at drawing out vivid performances," and Opera News declared, "Schlather created an intense, accessible, immersive experience that illuminated the emotional heart of [the] work....the entire theatrical experience, taken as a whole, was revelatory."  Join us as he shapes this unforgettable story of hope in the midst of suffering.  

Ensembles:  IlluminArts 

Sunday, June 5, 2016

Teatro Elfo Puccini
Milan, Italy
work being performed: killer
Ensembles:  Sentieri Selvaggi 
Teatro Elfo Puccini
Milan, Italy
work being performed: death speaks
Ensembles:  Sentieri Selvaggi 

Sunday, June 12, 2016 - Monday, June 20, 2016

Thursday, June 16, 2016 - Sunday, June 19, 2016

* World premiere
LA Opera
Los Angeles, California
work being performed: anatomy theater

Based on actual 18th-century texts, Anatomy Theater follows the astonishing progression of an English murderess: from confession to execution and, ultimately, public dissection before a paying audience of fascinated onlookers. Through the miracle of opera, she sings through it all.

Anatomy Theater conjures a time when “specialists” traveled from town to town in pre-modern Europe, conducting public dissections of the corpses of executed criminals, seeking evidence of moral corruption in the interior of the human body. Written by Pulitzer Prize–winning composer David Lang and world-renowned visual artist Mark Dion, Anatomy Theater is a joyous, tuneful and grisly theatrical event.

 
Ensembles:  LA Opera 
Collaborators:  Beth Morrison Projects   Mark Dion 

Friday, November 18, 2016

University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico
work being performed: death speaks
Ensembles:  New Music New Mexico 
Soloists:  Lauren Breden 
Syndicate content